Skip to content ↓

​Brentwood Diocese

St Mary's is part of the Diocese of Brentwood, and we work closely with the Diocese and its advisors to grow and develop.  The Diocese of Essex was formed on 22 March 1917 by the division of the Archdiocese of Westminster; and the Diocese of Brentwood was erected by the Bull, Universalis Ecclesiae Procratio, of 20 July 1917.
The Diocese consists of the Administrative County of Essex, the Unitary Authorities of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock and the London Boroughs of Barking & Dagenham, Havering, Newham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest.
For further information about the Diocese of Brentwood - click here

Diocesan Vision
The Diocese of Brentwood has published its Vision for the future renewal and restructuring of the diocese in Essex and East London. The document, entitled Vision Document: Shaping Our Future aims to maximise the opportunities for evangelisation, sacramental provision and putting faith into action through charitable works across the diocese, given the resources available in decades to come. Please click here to read the Vision Document in full. 

Brentwood Catholic Children’s Society are one of only two independent registered charities that are
 expressly supported and patronised by our Diocese and Bishop Alan. Open the link below to be able
to access information about the work they do.    For further information about BCCS - click here